Skip to main content

Our People

The Big Pixel Initiative is a global society of scholars dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through education and research. It is co-directed by Gordon Hanson and Jennifer Burney with a team of faculty, research scholars and affiliates, and graduate students from a variety of disciplines.


  • Jennifer Burney

    Jennifer Burney

    Director and Associate Professor, GPS; Marshall Saunders Chancellor’s Endowed Chair in Global Climate Policy and Research
  • Teevrat Garg

    Teevrat Garg

    Assistant Professor, GPS
  • Joshua Graff Zivin

    Joshua Graff Zivin

    Professor; Pacific Economic Cooperation Chair in International Economic Relations; Director, Center on Global Transformation
  • Gordon McCord

    Gordon McCord

    Associate Dean & Associate Teaching Professor of Economics, GPS
  • Craig McIntosh

    Craig McIntosh

    Professor, GPS and Co-director, Policy Design and Evaluation Lab

Research Affiliates

Postdoctoral Fellows and Students

  • Kathryn Baragwanath-Vogel

    Kathryn Baragwanath-Vogel

    Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Political Science, UC San Diego
  • Arman Khachiyan

    Arman Khachiyan

    Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Economics, UC San Diego
  • Hogeun Park

    Hogeun Park

    Postdoctoral Fellow, GPS
  • Luke Sanford

    Luke Sanford

    Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Political Science, UC San Diego
  • Anthony Thomas

    Anthony Thomas

    Ph.D. Candidate, Computer Science and Engineering, UC San Diego

External Affiliates

  • Ran Goldblatt

    Ran Goldblatt

    Chief Scientist, New Light Technologies; former Postdoctoral Fellow, GPS
  • Amit K. Khandelwal

    Amit K. Khandelwal

    Jerome A. Chazen Professor of Global Business, Columbia Graduate School of Business